Skip to content

The northern seatrout season

May 22, 2014

Text/Photo: Elias Waage Helstad – Youth Team Guideline

Cold water, white snow, low temperature and ice in the rod guides. What is the first thing popping-up in your mind? Well, for me, I associate these words with seatroutfishing! Seatroutfishing with good friends, cold water, cold toes and pink shrimps.

This season’s seatroutfishing has been really amazing, actually. Here in northern Norway the temperature in winter were pretty low, and the spring followed with degrees around zero. Not optimal for the seatrout to swim close to the shore, but we managed to find some pretty fish! As a Guideline Junior Powerteamer I’ve used the LPX’e RSv2 rods the whole time. I just love the attribute of the rod, and the characteristic white-design is just amazing. The rod has brought me fantastic fishing experiences! When April and May came, the temperature increased. Plenty of seatrouts were caught, and evenings with sun, no wind and rising fish are now added in my mind. The calmness by the sea is something I recommend everyone to experience.

fiskentilrune

A nice seatrout caught on a LPX’e RSv2 #6

From the time the temperature increased, I’ve fished a lot. And one day, I realized why I was fishing so much. I think it’s many reasons, such as the feeling of catching a fish with a plan you’ve planned, or the exciting feeling of getting a big and powerful seatrout after hours with casting and no fish. But the biggest reason for why I fish is the feelings of succeed. The social with the fishing also does come close after, but the feelings of succeed is the biggest reason for me. I just love that feeling!

Now the browntrout – and dryflyseason is just around the corner here north, and I can’t wait to flyfish with the brand new-tied winterflies. Let the hatch begin!

Under you can see my summary of this early seasons seatroutfishing in a new video.

Check out my home page here: nordicflyfisher.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

